thankyou for helping us. If I pay the property taxes that are now past due, how do I prevent the son from gaining access later should he recover from drugs and get his act together? So my question is this: How would the courts decide ownership interest since A) I have 100% responsibility for ownership costs & usage and more importantly B) I’ve paid her back for purchasing the property (will they take this into consideration if I have checks going to her since acquiring the property?). Pam, You need more help than we can give you here. My dad passed away a few years ago and left a property in florida which i have been paying taxes for 10 years. Is your name attached in some other way, perhaps on the mortgage? If not, then you can leave the property and it will be up to her to continue to make the mortgage and property tax payments. These four classifications are outlined in the Alabama Code as follows: All property of utilities used in the business of such utilities, All agricultural, forest, and residential property, and historic buildings and sites, All private-passenger automobiles and motor trucks of the type commonly known as “pickups” or “pickup trucks” owned and operated by an individual for personal or private use and not for hire, rent, or compensation. I am currently paying off the delinquent house taxes from 2014 from my deceased moms house in Los Angeles county CA. If that’s the case, you should inform the current owner, presumably your grandchildren, that you will no longer pay these taxes, so they can make other arrangements to have them paid. We can’t find a will and she has one living son. Does he have any rights to change the deed from my grandfathers name into his own? If it makes any difference, they are Michigan residents. Our Mother was convinced he would do the “right” thing. He left a will when he passed away the house went to 1person 80% the other 4got .02%. Texas Resident… – Not sure if the law for property taxes are the same in every state..